Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance available to almost all workers in the United States. Like many initiatives for employees, the laws differ between states, therefore it is important that you understand how the law applies in the state in which you are employed.
You may have the right to file for workers’ compensation if you are injured when partaking in work-related injuries and suffered financial damages as a result. The compensation is designed to minimize the financial suffering that an injured worker needs to go through in addition to the financial suffering. If you have been injured at work in the state of Ohio, it is important that you understand how the law applies to your situation so that you can gain the workers’ compensation benefits that you are entitled to.
How soon do I need to take action after a work injury in Ohio?
Ideally, you shouldof your injury in writing as soon as possible after it occurs. Make sure that you do this within 30 days. When you have notified your employer, they should provide you with the appropriate forms so that you can file a claim. In Ohio, there is a 2-year time limit to file a claim.
What compensation will I receive?
You will be able to gain compensation for all medical costs associated with your injury, including medicine, hospital services and doctor visits. You should also be able to gain back a portion of the wages that you lost while taking leave to recover.
What are my employer’s obligations?
Your employer has the legal obligation to notify the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation (BWC) within one week of acquiring knowledge of the injury. They should also ensure that they have workers’ compensation coverage if they have one or more employees.
If you have been, take action to ensure that you gain the workers’ compensation that you deserve.